Kansas Board of Barbering
Located in Topeka, KS
Protecting Public Safety and Health
Preserving our History
Welcome to the Kansas Board of Barbering website. We hope you find this site to be a useful resource whether it be for information about barbering in Kansas, our statutes and regulations, or providing you the ability to renew and restore licenses online. Applications provided on our site have been updated, please submit the most recent version of the applications for processing, outdated applications will not be processed. If you are wanting to renew online please see the information below.
For online renewal(s) please follow the links that can be found at the bottom of this page under the RENEW ONLINE section. If your license is current please select the Renewals link; If your license has lapsed (is expired), please use the Restoration link.
If you are a licensed Barber Instructor, check out our list of Barber Schools/Colleges as they are always looking for new teachers.
Kansas Legislative Session 2023: Our agency has had SB363 introduced into this legislative session. For more information regarding Kansas Legislation, please follow the link at https://www.kslegislature.org/li/ . You can read the proposed Bill by selecting the “find my bill” and type in SB363. SB363, is currently in the Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare. A hearing is scheduled for Wednesday 1/31/2024 at 8:30am room 142-South.
UPDATED TESTING POLICY: on September 21, 2021 the Kansas Board of Barbering voted to update the testing policy for examinations. Please see the following: Updated Testing Policy.
IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT TESTING: NOTICE REGARDING EXAMINATION RESULTS
Change in barber examination costs: The Board voted on Friday 18, 2023, to update the fees for examination in accordance with the legislature’s most recent budget described within HB 2184. The vote results are as follows and will take effect on September 1, 2023:
Initial Barber Examination Fee : $150 plus the $80 license fee
Retake for Barber Written Examination Fee : $150
Retake for Barber Practical Examination Fee : $100
Retake for Barber KS Rules and Regulations Examination: $50
The Kansas Board of Barbering Office will be closed on the following days for 2024 Holidays:
Memorial Day – Monday May 27, 2024
Juneteenth National Independence Day – Wednesday June 19, 2024
Independence Day – Thursday July 4, 2024
Labor Day – Monday September 2, 2024
Veterans Day – Monday November 11, 2024
Thanksgiving Holiday – Thursday November 28, 2024 and Friday November 29, 2024
Christmas – Wednesday December 25, 2024
On July 17, 2021 our Agency has implemented a fine schedule for infractions, non-compliance, and violations of Statutes, Regulations, and disinfection practices.
Fine amounts are shown here: Fine schedule
Renewal Time Frame and Fees:
Meeting for February 23, 2024 : Teleconference/In-Person meeting. Location is 700 SW Jackson, suite 1002, Topeka, KS 66603 12:00PM
Call in number is 785-414-8630, room number is 888419804#.
For COVID information and updates check these websites:
PLEASE REFER TO THE CDC WEBSITE, THE KDHE WEBSITE, AND THE COVID.KS.GOV WEBSITE FOR THE MOST UP TO DATE INFORMATION ON COVID-19!!!
We welcome your input, comments, and suggestions by letter, email, phone, or fax.
To apply for vacancies on the Board of Barbering refer to the Governor’s website. If you have questions you can e-mail KBOB@ks.gov. You can also call the office at 785-296-2211 for further information.
Barber, Instructor, Shop and School licenses are available for online renewal. A convenience fee will be added to your online renewal at checkout. If you are uncertain the amount you should pay for reinstatement contact the board office at 785-296-2211.
Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1817 and K.A.R. 61-7-2, additional fees must be charged when filing an application for restoration of an expired license. If you are applying for restoration of your expired barbering license and do not know the correct fee amount, please contact us at 785-296-2211. Any application accompanied with the incorrect fee will be deemed incomplete and will not be processed.
If you are trying to apply for Barber Shop License because of change of ownership, moving locations, or is a new shop in general, you will need to print off the new Barber Shop application found under forms and submit it to the Board office for processing.
License Renewals (Non-Expired): If your license is needing renewed select the link below
Expired License Restoration: If your license is EXPIRED/LAPSED click the link below https://appengine.egov.com/apps/ks/kbob-expired_license_restoration
Licensed Barber College – New and Renewal: https://appengine.egov.com/apps/ks/kbob/licensed_barber_college_licenses
BARBER LICENSE EXAMINATION
Practical Examination: Sunday January 28th, 2024 9:00AM at Paul Mitchell the School Wichita 3242 N. Rock Road #106 Wichita, KS 67226 Phone: 316-630-0600
Anyone wishing to apply for the Kansas Barber Licensing Exam, will need to complete an application for barber examination found under the “FORMS” tab above.
Each application must be filled out in its entirety, along with the fee and sent to the Kansas Board of Barbering office.
When the application is received the Board will do the following
- Pre-register applicant -(see paragraph below)
- Once the candidate has passed the NIC exam, they will then be placed on the list for the Practical and Rules & Regulations examinations.
Each application allows the Board to pre-register applicants for the computer-based testing NIC written exam. The applicant will receive and email from SMT regarding the pre-registration and will need to follow instructions in the email to finalize their registrations. This email will NOT come from KBOB, it will come from SMT. During the registration finalization process, the applicant will choose their date, time, and location for taking the NIC exam.